Posted by: grimmerie | 31 August 2008

1939: Only bad witches are ugly

Role call post #1: The classic MGM movie musical that continues to influence the way people think about L. Frank Baum’s world of Oz.


Judy Garland as Dorothy.


Her ruby slippers.


Ray Bolger as Scarecrow.


Jack Haley as Tin Man.


Bert Lahr as Cowardly Lion.


Margaret Hamilton as The Wicked Witch of the West.


Billie Burke as Glinda the Good Witch of the North.


Toto

The fake Wizard of Oz.


Frank Morgan as the Wizard of Oz.

The Emerald City.

Responses

  1. Dorothy: Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore. [looks around] We must be over the rainbow.

    Glinda: [appears]

    Dorothy: Now I know we’re not in Kansas.

    Glinda: Are you a good witch or a bad witch?

    Dorothy: Who, me? I’m not a witch at all. I’m Dorothy Gale from Kansas.

    Glinda: Oh, well, is that the witch? [points to Toto]

    Dorothy: Toto? Toto’s my dog.

    Glinda: [laughs] I’m a little muddled. The munchkins called me because a new witch has just dropped a house on the Wicked Witch of the East. And there’s the house and here you are and that’s all that’s left of the Wicked Witch of the East. And so what the munchkins wanna know is are you a good witch or a bad witch?

    Dorothy: But I’ve already told you I’m not a witch at all. Witches are old and ugly!

    Munchkins: [laughing]

    Dorothy: What was that?

    Glinda: The munchkins. They’re laughing because I am a witch. I’m Glinda, the witch of the North.

    Dorothy: You are? Well, I beg your pardon but I’ve never heard of a beautiful witch before.

    Glinda: Only bad witches are ugly. The munchkins are happy because you have freed them from the Wicked Witch of the East.

    Dorothy: Oh, but if you please, what are munchkins?

    Glinda: The little people who live in this land. It’s munchkinland and you are their national heroine, my dear. It’s all right you may all come out and thank her. [singing] Come out, come out wherever you are and meet the young lady who fell from the star. She fell from the sky she fell very far and Kansas she says is the name of the star.

    Munchkins: [singing] Kansas she says is the name of the star.

    Glinda: [singing] She brings you good news or haven’t you heard. When she fell outta Kansas a miracle occurred.

    Dorothy: [singing] It really was no miracle what happened was just this. The wind began to switch the house to pitch and suddenly the hinges started to unhitch. Just then the witch to satisfy an itch went flying on her broomstick thumbing for a hitch.

  2. Munchkins: [singing] And oh, what happened then was rich. The house began to pitch the kitchen took a slitch, it landed on the wicked witch in the middle of a ditch which was not a healthy situation for the wicked witch. Who began to twitch and was reduced to just a stitch of what was once the wicked witch.

    Munchkin: We thank you very sweetly for doing it so neatly. You killed her so completely that we thank you very sweetly. [gives Dorothy flowers]

    Glinda: Let the joyus news be spread. The wicked old witch at last is dead.

    Munchkins: [singing]

    Lullaby League: [singing] We represent the lullaby league. The lullaby league the lullaby league. And in the name of the lullaby league we wish to welcome you to munchkinland.

    Lollipop Guild: [singing] We represent the lollipop guild the lollipop guild the lollipop guild. The lollipop guild. And in the name of the lollipop guild we wish to welcome you to munchkinland. [gives Dorothy a lollipop]

    Munchkins: [singing] We welcome you to munchkinland tra-la-la-la. La-la-la-la.

    Mayor Munchkin: [singing] From now on you’ll be history.

    Munchkins: [singing] And we will glorify your name. You’ll be bust in the hall of fame. La-la-la-la-la.

    Wicked Witch of the West: [appears]

    Dorothy: I thought you said she was dead.

    Glinda: That was her sister, the Wicked Witch of the East. This is the Wicked Witch of the West. She’s worse than the other one was.

    Wicked Witch of the West: Who killed my sister? Who killed the Witch of the East? Was it you?

    Dorothy: No. No, it was an accident. I didn’t mean to kill anybody.

    Wicked Witch of the West: Well, my little pretty, I can cause accidents too.

    Glinda: Aren’t you forgetting the Ruby Slippers?

    Wicked Witch of the West: The slippers. Yes, the slippers! [tries to pick up the slippers] They’re gone! The ruby slippers! What have you done to ‘em? Give ‘em back to me or I’ll!

    Glinda: It’s too late. There they are and there they’ll stay. [points to Dorothy's feet]

    Wicked Witch of the West: Give me back my slippers! I’m the only one who knows how to use them! They’re no use to you. Give them back to me! Give them back!

    Glinda: [to Dorothy] Keep tight inside of them. Their magic must be very powerful or she wouldn’t want them so badly.

    Wicked Witch of the West: You stay outta this, Glinda, or I’ll fix you as well!

    Glinda: [laughs] Oh, rubbish! You have no power here be gone! Before somebody drops a house on you too.

    Wicked Witch of the West: Very well I’ll bide my time. And as for you my fine lady. True I can’t attend you here and now as I’d like. But just try to stay outta my way! Just try! I’ll get you my pretty and your little dog too! [cackles and exits]

  3. Dorothy: Auntie Em, really, do you know what Miss Gulch said she was gonna do to Toto? She said she was gonna.

    Auntie Em: Dorothy, dear, stop imagining things. You always get yourself into a fret over nothing. Now, you just help us out today and find yourself a place where you won’t get into any trouble. [runs off]

    Dorothy: Some place where there isn’t any trouble. Do you suppose there’s such a place, Toto? There must be. It’s not a place you can get to by a boat or a train. It’s far, far away. Behind the moon, beyond the rain. [singing] Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high. There’s a land that I heard of once in a lullaby. Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue and the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true. Someday, I’ll wish upon a star and wake up where the clouds are far behind me. Where troubles melt like lemon drops away above the chimney tops. That’s where you’ll find me. Somewhere over the rainbow, blue birds fly. Birds fly over the rainbow why then oh why can’t I? If happy little blue birds fly beyond the rainbow why oh why can’t I?

  4. Everything is very open with a very clear description of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your website is extremely helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

